Leave Me Alone, I'm Reading' Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison

Tessa Bright Wildsmith
Photo with no caption

Rachel Morgan is a witch and a bounty hunter. Her job is to bring in witches practicing the dark arts, werewolves behaving badly, vampires feeding where they shouldn’t be and many other supernatural characters who have broken the rules.

Rachel lives in Cincinnati. The country has changed after a tomato virus wiped out a quarter of the human population. The supernaturals were immune to the virus and decided it was time to come out of hiding. Now the human and supernatural people of Cincinnati work together to keep the peace - just on opposite sides of the river. The humans live in the city. The supernaturals live in the Hollows.

Rachel doesn’t exactly love her job. She spends a lot of time doing dirty work that doesn’t challenge or inspire her. However, the only two ways of quitting her job is to buy her way out or die. Rachel is determined though and decides to take the risk and go out on her own. With the help of a few friends, Rachel sets out to catch the bad guys and save her own life at the same time.

The thing that sets The Hollows series apart from many other supernatural books is the complex relationships and characters. None of the characters are what they seem, and they constantly surprise and intrigue with their choices. There isn’t a bland character to be found in any of the books I’ve read. Rachel is feisty and determined. She annoys me at times, but not so much that it turned me off of the books. Ivy, Rachel’s roommate and friend, is probably the most complex character in the books. She’s a vampire, and I’m still not sure if she’s good or bad. She’s good, but every now and then she does something that makes me question everything I thought I knew about her.

The Hollows books aren’t action-packed the way some in the genre are. They are much more about the characters and their relationships and how they live a life of balancing their abilities in a world of humans.

The back story with the tomato virus and how it killed off so much of the human population is one of the most original premises I’ve read. It made for an interesting set up for the characters and the plot.

“Dead Witch Walking” is the first book and “The Good, The Bad, and The Undead” is the sequel. In all, Harrison has written a total of 9 books in The Hollows Series and the ninth book, “Pale Demon” was just released in February, 2011.

If you’re looking for a supernatural series with a lot more to offer than just surface action and entertainment, The Hollows is definitely one you can dive into and stay for a while. It promises to have depth, complex characters and a touch of mystery.

Have you read “Dead Witch Walking?” Discuss your thoughts on the book below.

© 2011 blounttoday.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!