Filling tanks for United Way

Annual Gas Day raises $14,093 for campaign

The 2010 United Way of Blount County Gas Day was a success as more than $14,093 during the Oct. 2 event, a 40 percent increase of 2009 totals.

Aaron Killian, marketing and public relations coordinator with the United Way of Blount County, said Downey Oil, Calloway Oil and McNutt Oil companies contributed $5,115.66 and volunteers raised $8,966.83 and about $56.32 was raised from soft drink purchases. There were volunteers working for tips at all 13 locations raised $8,966.83.

Michelle Hankes, president and CEO of the United Way of Blount County, said a difference in this year’s event was that teams were formed at different locations. “We had little competitions and a lot of camaraderie going on and you could tell the teams that got into the spirit and had fun with it,” she said. “We had Leadership Blount members dressed up in costumes and we had about a dozen motorcycles lined up as a couple motorcycle groups had fun with it and the team captains really got thing going.”

Leadership Blount raised $1,011.16 through its volunteers. Members from the 2011 Class who volunteered at the pumps included Pam Hathcock, John Elder, Susan Stout, Michel Walker, Vallie Collins, Matt Webb, Barry Ferguson, Stephanie Trost, Leigh Sterling and Sherry Paul.

Leadership Blount alumni who volunteered included: Diane Rutherford, Jewell Johnson-Overton, Holly Burkett, Brian Tuggle, Debra Whaley, Jonathan Reed, Kelly Forster and Diane Rutherford.

Other Leadership Blount alumni giving of their time to help with Gas Day included: John Hinkle, Class of 1999, Mike Zorio, Class of 2003, Teri Brahams, Class of 2002 and Chris Clark, Class of 2005.

© 2010 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 3

katherinebestcaputo writes:

And Chris LaRue '01!

mhankes writes:

Thanks to the many amazing volunteers who made this event such a success!!!!!

katherinebestcaputo writes:

And Annette Pickett '97!