Roll film!

Inaugural Downtown Film Festival boasts 55 films, honors 20 with awards

Craig Brown was tired, but elated as his dream of bringing an independent film festival to Maryville played out before a good crowd who got red carpet treatment at the Capitol Theatre Sunday night.

With last minute details for the festival consuming Brown’s days and nights before the festival began, the creator of Maryville’s first Downtown Film Festival pulled off the event with few hitches. “Wildman” Jeff Anderson and Deborah Mauldin kept the flow going as masters of ceremonies.

Touring films and competition films filled the big screen at the theater, interspersed with entertainment such as belly dancers and singers. There were 10 films entered in the competition category. Judges chose winners in 20 categories, with big winners of the night being “The Clevenger,” with two awards including Best Film, and “Lenny Liebowitz,” which garnered Best Actor honors for Ryan Stewart, Best Supporting Actor for Mike Stanley and Best Film Editing for Kelly Burke.

Winners were:

• Best Film: “The Clevenger” by Planet Icon Films, Nathanial Tipton, producer

• Best Director: Luke Dye and Dale Fisher for “The Sound of Slaughter”

• Best Touring Film: “One Liners” by Planet Sun Productions, Adam Childress and Ben Dongarra, producers

• Best Actor: Ryan Stewart for “Lenny Liebowitz”

• Best Actress: Amy Casterline for “It Girl”

• Best Supporting Actor: Mike Stanley for “Lenny Liebowitz”

• Best Supporting Actress: Lauren Lazurus for “Sound Of Slaughter”

• Best Screenplay: Luke Dye, Dale Fisher and Elizabeth Gibson for “Sound of Slaughter”

• Best Ensemble Film: “Death By Committee” by Broken Entertainment, Mitch Moore, producer

• Best Documentary Film: “Maryville High School Decade of Excellence,” by Rebels First in cooperation with Video Solutions

• Best Music Video: “Rhyme Slaya” by Reply All, Elizabeth Gibson and Kristina Parks, producers

• Best Student Film: “Ten Year Coffee Break,” by I.C.S. Productions, Andrew Dennis, producer

• Best New Media: “The iBox” by Gorilla With An Uzi, David Lavender, producer

• Best Cinematographer: Drew Weaver for “One Liners”

• Best Sound Design: Nathaniel Tipton for “The Clevenger”

• Best Film Editing: Kelly Burke for “Lenny Liebowitz”

• Best Costume Design: India Brabson for “The Gatekeeper”

• Best Makeup: Shanna Hinchey-Norris for “Adam’s Apple”

• Best Film Trailer: “Stand Like A Mountain” by Thundering Hoof, Ronda Smalling, producer

• Best Film Poster: Larry Mowry for “Second Chance”

To view the films, follow the links at

© 2010 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!