Hammon elected to Tennessee Municipal League Board of Directors

Bill Hammon

Bill Hammon

Bill Hammon, Alcoa assistant city manager, was elected to the board of directors of the Tennessee Municipal League (TML) during the League’s annual conference recently held in Gatlinburg. Dale Kelley, Huntingdon mayor, was elected President.

Hammon was elected as one of eight district directors to represent his section of the state. He was nominated and elected during a district caucus of TML members from his region of Tennessee.

Founded in 1940 and based in Nashville, TML is a nonprofit organization founded by cities and towns for mutual assistance and improvement. Representing 99 percent of Tennessee’s municipal citizens, the organization lobbies for needed legislative action by the General Assembly, represents municipal interests before state departments and agencies, and - working through the National League of Cities in Washington - seeks to influence federal legislation and policies affecting municipal governments.

As a member of the TML board of directors, Hammon will propose and help determine legislation that municipalities need passed into law and will establish policy priorities for the League. Hammon will serve a two-year term. Hammon works closely with the Blount County legislative delegation and the TML staff representing municipal interests.

Other board elections include three vice presidents: Morristown Vice Mayor Kay Senter, Portland Mayor Ken Wilber, and Humboldt Mayor Allen Barker. TML vice presidents are traditionally in line to serve as president.

The TML board also includes past TML presidents, mayors of Tennessee’s largest cities, eight district directors, and eight at-large directors. The chairmen of the TML Risk Management Pool -- providing affordable, dependable liability coverage to municipalities, and the Tennessee Municipal Bond Fund - offering low-interest loans for capital improvements -- also sit on the board.

The eight district directors, representing their section of the state, were nominated and elected during district caucuses. They are: District 1: Randy Trivette, Erwin city recorder; District 2: Bill Hammon, Alcoa assistant city manager; District 3: Chris Dorsey, Red Bank city manager; District 4: Dr. Norman Rone, McMinnville mayor; District 5: Angie Carrier, White House city manager; District 6: Betsey Crossley, Brentwood mayor; District 7: Vance Coleman, Medina mayor; and District 8: David Gordon, Covington mayor.

© 2010 blounttoday.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!