Pellissippi State’s Tennessee State Handgun Safety Course has been so popular that participants in the non-credit class requested a sequel. In response, the college’s Business and Community Services Division is now offering Advanced Firearm Safety.
In the seven-hour course, students will learn how to apply the knowledge, skills and attitude required for the use of a firearm, both at home and in real-life situations.
Classes are scheduled on Saturdays, August 8, September 12, October 10, November 14 and December 12. All sessions are 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Students will meet at the Pellissippi Campus on Hardin Valley Road for five hours, then spend two hours of range time increasing their defensive and tactical skills. The cost is $119, with a range fee of $6.
The course emphasizes the importance of following the legal standards set forth for civilians with a carry permit. Students will learn how to develop a process that enables them to maintain a high level of personal safety, yet conform to Tennessee law in the event a self-defense situation would occur.
To register or find out more, contact BCS at 865-539-7167.