MC professor selected for Fulbright committee

Dr. Nancy Locklin-Sofer, Maryville College associate professor of history and chair of the Maryville Curriculum, has been selected to serve on a peer review committee for the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES).

CIES is responsible for coordinating and conducting the initial screening of applications (peer review) for the Fulbright Scholar Program.

CIES develops committees that represent academia’s disciplinary, geographic and institutional diversity. Committee membership is typically three years but is contingent upon each year’s committee needs.

Dr. Jeff Fager, Maryville College’s vice president and academic dean, said the College was “proud to have one of [its] own selected for this important work.”

“The Fulbright program is the premier system for American scholars carrying out their research abroad, and Dr. Locklin-Sofer’s participation at this level is a tribute to her reputation in academic circles,” he said.

The Fulbright Program was established by the United States Congress in 1946 to promote “international goodwill through the exchange of students in the fields of education, culture and science.” Now six decades old, it remains the United States government’s most prestigious scholarship program, operating in 155 countries.

The College recently celebrated the selection of recent graduate Matt Murrill for the prestigious Fulbright-Nehru Award. Murrill is currently studying groundwater arsenic contamination in the Indian state of West Bengal.

© 2009 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!