Toney, Robinson nominated finalist for Mr. Football

The Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards will be presented to the top 10 backs and linemen in five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association on Monday, Nov. 30, 2009, at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center in Murfreesboro from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Alcoa seniors Jaron Toney and Tyler Robinson, the reigning Mr. Football lineman of the year, were selected among the three finalists for Class AA Back and Lineman of the Year, respectively. For the eighth consecutive year, the top kicker in the state will be recognized with a Mr. Football Award.

The event is supported financially by the Tennessee Titans Foundation.

“High school football in Tennessee enjoys a great tradition throughout the state and we are pleased to join the TSSAA for the third consecutive year in saluting these fine young men at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards,” Titans owner Bud Adams said. “The young men that are recognized with these awards are truly the best of the best! They are selected not only for their football skills, but for their strong character and academic achievements and we’re honored to join the TSSAA in saluting them!”

A committee of statewide sportswriters selected winners based on performance in the 2009 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

“We’re very thankful to Mr. Adams and the Tennessee Titans for their continued commitment to high school athletics,” TSSAA Executive Director Bernard Childress said.

“We are obviously excited and appreciative about being involved with the Tennessee Titans. They have helped make the recognition of the 33 student-athletes, their families, and schools possible,” Childress added.

This is the 25th year that the Mr. Football Awards have been presented to Tennessee’s best high school football players. Plaques will be presented to 22 other finalists.

Approximately 600 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, are expected to attend the 2009 luncheon.

Mike Keith, play-by-play voice of the Tennessee Titans, will emcee the awards presentations. Live videostream of the awards will be provided for free by the Tennessee High School Sports Network (THSSN). Those interested can watch the awards by going to

2009 Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Finalists

Class A Lineman

Josh Carroll, Adamsville

Ronnie Fair, Union City

Jiajuan Fennell, South Pittsburg

Class AA Lineman

O.C. Brown, Manassas

Tyler Robinson, Alcoa

James Stone, Maplewood

Class AAA Lineman

Chris Mayes, Riverdale

Tim McAdoo, Oakland

Jacques Smith, Ooltewah

DII-A Lineman

Walker McWherter, USJ

Steven Stafford, ECS

Derek Vaughn, Davidson Academy

DII-AA Lineman

Jonathan Brown, CBHS

Sam Cooper, Ensworth

Harrison Martin, MUS

Class A Back

Kevin Ashabraner, Jo Byrns

Kennon Holder, Huntingdon

Terrell Robinson, South Pittsburg

Class AA Back

Bryson Crowder, Liberty

Jaron Toney, Alcoa

Bo Wallace, Giles County

Class AAA Back

Reed Gurchiek, Mt. Juliet

Anthony Hayes, White Station

Darian Stone, Clinton

DII-A Back

Davis Childers, ECS

Jake Overbey, USJ

Doug Page, FRA


Barry Brunetti, MUS

Orleans Darkwa, Ensworth

Jacob Huesman, Baylor

Kicker of the Year

Andrew Fletcher, MBA

Christian Kauffman, MUS

Nick Pollard, Father Ryan

© 2009 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!