Local pharmacist honored

Jeanne Ezell, D.Ph., M.S., of Maryville, was presented the “Tom C. Sharp 2007 Pharmacist of the Year Award” in a ceremony during the 121st Annual Convention of the Tennessee Pharmacists Association (TPA) held recently in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Dr. Ezell is currently Director of Pharmacy at Blount Memorial Hospital in Maryville, Tennessee. She received her B.S. in Pharmacy from the University of Tennessee in 1978 and her M.S. in Hospital Pharmacy from the University of Kansas in 1986 where she also completed an ASHP accredited residency in hospital pharmacy.

Dr. Ezell received this award in recognition of her contributions in the area of improving medication use and safety in Tennessee. She led a medication process improvement project at Blount Memorial Hospital with the goal of providing high-quality medication therapy with minimal adverse drug effects.

Dr. Ezell has made numerous presentations locally and nationally and has been active in pharmacy associations throughout her career, including serving on committees for both the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and the Tennessee Society of Health-System Pharmacists (TSHP).

Dr. Ezell has chaired the TPA Continuum of Care Committee since its inception and championed efforts resulting in the development of a Universal Medical List (UML) made available to all healthcare providers and citizens in Tennessee. TDr. Ezell and her husband have two children and reside in Maryville, Tennessee.

© 2008 blounttoday.com. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!