Sports greats

Community celebrates 10 inductees to Hall of Fame

The Blount County Sports Hall of Fame held its annual induction banquet Oct. 27 and local sports legends from throughout the community were recognized.

U.S. Senator and Maryville native Lamar Alexander was the keynote speaker for the banquet, held annually in October at the Hilton. Sen. Alexander was introduced by his friend, and a Hall of Fame member, Ann Baker Furrow.

Randy Lambert served as master of ceremonies and offered a special recognition for the late Jim Campbell, a former Maryville High School athletic director.

As each of the ten honorees were presented, videos of their lives were shown, capturing the sports highlights of each new member.

Maryville Alcoa Blount County Parks and Recreation executive director Joe Huff introduced Special Olympic Athlete of the Year Paul Myers, who was presented a plaque by Cookie Crowson of Parks & Rec.

New members were: Kim Bledsoe, James Dalton, Tim George, Lon Herzbrun, Larry Johnston, Mike Matzek, Gene Reynolds, Sandy Sherlin, Todd Upton and Jerry Thompson.

Thompson also introduced the segment “Great Teams of the Past.” The 1989 Maryville High School baseball state champions were recognized.

Sponsors for the banquet include Blount Memorial Hospital, Pro Media, Blount Today and Maryville Alcoa Blount County Parks and Recreation.

Table sponsors for the evening’s festivities included Alcoa Tenn Federal Credit Union, GreenBank, Blount Discount Pharmacy, Harrison Construction and Kenjo markets.

© 2008 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!