More than 55 from Blount County graduate from Maryville College

More than 55 students from Blount County were among the approximately 240 undergraduates completing requirements for a bachelor of arts degree and graduating from Maryville College.

Approximately 240 seniors participated in Commencement exercises held May 18 in the Boydson Baird Gymnasium of Cooper Athletic Center.

Dr. Kala Stroup, president of American Humanics, was the commencement speaker and was also awarded an honorary degree during the evening’s ceremonies.

In her address, entitled “Ethical Leadership: Grounded in Philanthropy,” Stroup told graduates that along with their academic degrees and leadership experience came “an obligation - a duty - to be philanthropic and to encourage others to do so.

“… Others have invested in you, and you have invested in yourself,” she added. “Now it is your turn - time for you to invest in your community, society, others,” she told members of the Class of 2008.

Thirty-one Blount County residents graduated with honors. The distinctions are conferred upon students who have completed at least 64 hours at Maryville College and have attained for the full college course with a standing between 3.40 and 3.75 (cum laude), 3.75 and 3.95 (magna cum laude) and between a 3.95 and 4.0 (summa cum laude).

Those students from Blount County earning degrees from the College included:

From Friendsville: Ashley Marshall (cum laude); Thomas Hankinson, Jr.

From Louisville: Daryl Anderson (cum laude), Erin French (magna cum laude), Lauren Harris (cum laude), Jessica Roder, Jennifer Seivers (cum laude) and Koral Stache (summa cum laude).

From Maryville: Jillian Atchley, Suzanne Benn, Anthony J. “A.J.” Bennet, Jason Bott, Amanda Brooks (magna cum laude), Sarah Brown, Lauran Canacaris (cum laude), Jill Copeland (cum laude), Morgan Donnell, Kristen Edmonds (cum laude), Lauren Edmonds (cum laude), Aaron Esmark, Kevin Fowler (magna cum laude), Stephanie Gibson (magna cum laude), Heather Griffiths (cum laude), Emily Harrill (cum laude), Amber Hawk (cum laude), Lindsey Hill (cum laude), Jeremy Holliday, Elisha Huskey, Bret Jones (cum laude), Mariah Kennel, Ashlee Kratman, Jason Lambert (cum laude), Sheri Lovegrove (magna cum laude), Jarrod Myers (cum laude), Hope O’Connor (cum laude), J. Ryan Pate, April Petree, Ashley Rang (cum laude), Kristina Rose (cum laude), Katie Saxe, Deanna Scaglione (cum laude), Grayson Shockley, Lauren Sipe, Lauren Smalley (magna cum laude), Zachary Smigiel (cum laude), James Stewart, Brooke Stinnett, Sarah Taylor (cum laude), Emily Thorson, Karen Tiller, Dana Troutman, P. Michelle Wilson (cum laude), Emily Winsauer (summa cum laude) and Susan Woody.

From Rockford: Beth Gamble (cum laude).

From Townsend: Brittany Goin-Hepperly (magna cum laude).

From Walland: Nicci Williamson.

© 2008 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!