Community Notes:

Police Department will hold AARP Driver Safety Course
The City of Maryville Police Department’s Community Policing Unit is offering a course that will save on insurance premiums for drivers over 55 years of age, and help to save lives.

The AARP Driver Safety Program is a classroom refresher course especially designed to meet the needs of older drivers. It includes age-related physical changes, declining perceptual skills, rules of the road, local driving problems and license renewal requirements. The course was developed by the American Association of Retired Persons’ (AARP) in partnership with the International Association of Chiefs of Police and its membership, is designed to help older drivers update their knowledge and skills, prevent traffic accidents and violations, and maintain mobility and independence.

The AARP Driver Safety Program will be offered on Monday, April 9th and Tuesday, April 10th from 8:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. at the Maryville Police Department at 400 West Broadway Avenue. The $10.00 fee per person, which goes directly to AARP, covers the cost of classroom materials.

A great aspect of the course is that those who participate will save money on their insurance premiums. Tennessee requires that all automobile insurance companies offer a premium to graduates of the course. Upon completion, participants can mail or fax a copy of their course certificate to their auto agent to receive the discount. For more details about the exact amount of savings, call your local insurance agent.

Call Sergeant Jason Barham or Officer Brent Hall at the at 977-6964 now to reserve your space.

Students perform as part of Blount County Music Fair
The annual Blount County Music Fair was held Friday, March 2. Students in grades 4-8 were selected by their music or band teacher to represent their school at the Music Fair. The students participated in vocal performance, instrumental performance, or a piano performance. Students individually performed before a panel of judges and received valuable feedback. Each participant will receive a ribbon and certificate.

The music specialists who organized the event were Mark Boring, Shanea Boring, Susie Dougherty, Tina Hackney, Craig Hurst, Tami Jones, Kim Juday, Jamie McNutt, Tiffany Sasser, Carol Ward, Diane Ward, Barbara West, and Holly Wight.

Special thanks to Broadway United Methodist Church for providing space for the Music Fair.

Students participating in each of the three categories are provided.

4th grade vocal: Kayla Dennison, Whitney Baines, Hailey Thomas, Autumn McMurray, Cathryn McGinley, Kelsey Wayman, Hunter Blair, Jacob McMillan, Sydney Deam, Leah Thomas, Hannah Messer, Michaela Salley, Jenna Wilburn, Grace Bailey, Ashley Bailey, David Sparks, Jessie Ramage-Cooper, Destiny Wood, Lauren Hudson, Shelby Herron, Allie Israel, and Gabby Buchanan.

5th grade vocal: Kasey Miller, Grace Brown, Sarah Tallent, Laura Garrett, Samantha Solomon, Brett Branaman, Erica Eve, Christen Johnson, Whitney Hembree, Maddie Carpenter, Kailyn Juday, Maleah Powers, Brooke Blair, Ashley McIntosh, Brandon Bullock, Loren Whaley, and Macensy Marlow.

6th grade vocal: Megan Rogers, Cheyenne Gies, Megan Hill, Megan Parker, Jessica McGinley, Marisa Myers, Shelby Cupp, McKienzie Sherman, Lilly Tucker, and Paris Crisman.

7th grade vocal: Cheyenne Licht and Miranda Rutherford.

8th grade vocal: Mikala Hill, Deanna Gilson, Sarah French, Sarah McLemore, Jennifer Tanner, Kristin Latham, and Brittany Nash.

4th grade instrumental: Liberty Denu.

5th grade instrumental: Tristan Adams, Grace Gentry, Adam Ham, Nicole Nigro, Ivy Russell, Joseph Morrison, and Lendi Yates.

6th grade instrumental: Stephen Earls, Joseph Dockery, Morgan Testerman, Cora McCullouch, Haley Wilder.

7th grade instrumental: Kimberly McNutt, Jessica Witten, Zach Johnson, Savannah Summers, Brianna Oldham-Mynatt.

8th grade instrumental: Tyler Haley, Robert Scarpello, Chelsie Paramore, Olivia Dilling, and Becky Reynolds.

4th grade piano: Samantha Presnell, Mindy Reagan, Faith Stewart, Katie Woodall, Sarah Coffey, Sarah Cook, Abby Cupp.

5th grade piano: Michelle Lin, Lindsey Johnson, Loran Miller, Caitlyn White, Kara Prost, Anna Sinders, Carly Rodebush, and Tanner Jones.

6th grade piano: Christopher Nitzband, Kevin Lin, and Jocelyn Deter.

7th grade piano: Drew Davis and James Elliott.

8th grade piano: Stevie Morrison and Devon Millsaps.

© 2007 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!