Maples, Douglas and Shiverdecker win Mr. Football awards

Blount County high school standouts Chris Shiverdecker of Alcoa and Maryville's Tyler Maples and Aaron Douglas have been named to Mr. Football honors at the Mr. Football awards luncheon in Nashville today.
Shiverdecker, a senior, was named Mr. Football Class 2A back. Maples, a senior, took honors as Class 4A back and Douglas, a junior, won Class 4A lineman.

The luncheon was held today, Monday, at the Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center in Nashville. Also out of East Tennessee, Knoxville Catholic running back Harrison Smith received the award as a back in Class 3A.

Alcoa's Rae Sykes was a nominee for Class 2A lineman. Chris Donald of Huntingdon High School, who is rated the nation's top linebacker, won the lineman Mr. Football honors in Class 2A.

For reactions to the awards as Alcoa and Maryville head to the BlueCross Bowl, pick up a copy of the Nov. 30 Blount Today.

The complete list of winners:

  • Class 1A
    Lineman, Cole Trim, Fayette Academy
    Back, Marco Dailey, Mt. Pleasant High School
  • Class 2A
    Lineman, Chris Donald, Huntingdon High School
    Back, Chris Shiverdecker, Alcoa
  • Class 3A
    Lineman, Alex Watkins, Haywood High School
    Back, Harrison Smith, Knoxville Catholic
  • Class 4A
    Lineman, Aaron Douglas, Maryville High School
    Back, Tyler Maples, Maryville High School
  • Class 5A
    Lineman, Chris Marve, White Station High School
    Back, Aaron Crawford, Ridgeway High School
  • Kicker
    Josh Jasper, Ridgeway High School
  • Division II, Class A/AA
    Lineman, Eric Davis, Davidson Academy
    Back, Golden Tate, Pope John Paul II High School
  • Division II, Class AAA
    Lineman, John Stokes, Memphis University School
    Back, B.J. Coleman, McCallie School

© 2006 All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

  • Discuss
  • Print

Comments » 0

Be the first to post a comment!